It’s not you, it’s me.

Dear New York City,

I think we need a break. I’m so sorry. I’m just feeling rather smothered, you know? I’m sure you feel the same way. We’ve been going hot and heavy for three years now…I’m just worried…what if there is something I’m missing. Like, what if I never experience another city and regret it for the rest of my life?

Look, I know this is all sort of crazy. And I truly do love you. But, I’m going to Paris. And possibly London. And definitely some cities in Germany. Probably a couple more cities in between. I’m leaving in sixteen days. But that doesn’t mean I love you any less, alright? I just need to get some more experiences before I’m ready to settle down.

No, please don’t cry…please? You won’t even notice I’m gone! And the time will go by so fast.

I’ll keep in touch! You know letters, email, FaceTime? All those things.

I don’t want to break up. I totally plan on coming back to you. (I mean right now thats the plan. But anything can happen, right?) And I get it if you don’t wait around for me. But I’ll be back. And I hope you’re waiting for me.

I promise, even though it sucks right now and we are going to miss each other very, very much, its all for the best. I am going to come back a more educated and more experienced individual. It is going to make our relationship stronger in the long run. You just have to trust me.

Let’s just enjoy my last two weeks here, alright? Let’s get some better weather and spend some quality time together. Let’s make it the best two weeks we’ve ever had together.

I know this all sounds so awful. Please don’t hate me. I love you. I’ll be back soon.

Best,

Kacey

 
5
Kudos
 
5
Kudos

Now read this

Symptoms of a Stage Manager

You think that wearing black actually makes you invisible. Even more so, 90% of your wardrobe is black. Your life is run by lists. I make a list for literally everything: to-do lists for today, to-do lists for this week, lists of things... Continue →