Dear subway conductors with bad communication skills…

Why do you hate me?

When going home I need to eventually end up on the R train, right? Great. So like many other nights I will take the Brooklyn bound D train to 36th Street where I will transfer to the R. Awesome.

But wait, there was a planned service change?!

Plan /plan/ (verb) past tense: planned; past participle: planned
decide on and arrange in advance

You MTA people may have “planned” this in advance, but you sure has hell didn’t inform anyone.

So here I am at the 36th Street platform waiting for the R train. An N train rolls by. I think to myself, “Hey, I could take that train to 59th Street but I would still have to wait around for the R. Might as well just stay here!”

But I have been waiting on this platform for a strangely long amount of time. And by strangely long I mean 40 minutes. I decided to ask this nice MTA employee who is walking up the platform what is going on. He then tells me, “Oh, the R isn’t stopping at 36th Street. You have to take the N to 59th Street and transfer there.”

Well that would have been nice to know five N trains ago! Jesus Christ! Can one subway conductor not announce that small piece of information? Seriously, five trains passed me and not one of them thought it was a good idea to inform the people on the platform that the train they were waiting for would never arrive?

I would have accepted any form of communication: announcement, service change poster, smoke signals.

You need to work on your communication skills or we are over.

Best,

Kacey

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-48874520-1', 'svbtle.com'); ga('send', 'pageview');
 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Dear cab driver taking me to Brooklyn…

I don’t appreciate your attitude. You are not doing me any sort of favor by driving me home. I don’t need the melodramatic lecture about how I shouldn’t ask cab drivers to take me to Brooklyn. This is your job, dude. Your job is to drive... Continue →