Dear Irish guy on the subway…

Be my best friend. No, seriously. Please be my best friend.

You made my subway ride home at 1am a million times better.

This is what happened in the moments leading to you getting on my train: I had been standing on the platform at 36th Street in Brooklyn for at least forty minutes waiting for the dreaded R train. The sense of relief when the train finally arrived was insane. I just wanted to be home.

And then you arrived on the N train across the platform. And just as the doors to the N opened, the doors to the R closed. Now, I admit to you that part of me was thinking, “I had to wait. You have to wait. You must suffer like I did!” But my more understanding self felt sorry for your poor soul that was sentenced to be stranded on that cold, lonely platform.

Luckily for you (and as I would find out in a moment, also luckily for me) the R train doors did miraculously open and you darted in from across the platform and sat down right across from me. Thank God.

You began ranting about how horrid the MTA is. Honestly, at first, I had no idea what the words coming out of your mouth actually meant because I was so captivated with the way you said them. The way you spoke was rough yet so charming. You have the coolest accent. Please just follow me around and talk to me all day. I will pay you.

Once regaining my composure, I agreed with everything you said. One thing you said stuck out in particular. You said, “I pay the MTA to provide me with a service. They should be working toward filling my needs. And I need to get home, man.” You’re so right! I mean I always knew this but I had never really thought about it. I had become so complacent with the idea of yes this sucks but there is nothing I can do about it.

Okay, in reality, I’m never going to be able to make changes in the MTA that help get home faster. But, you reminded me that I need to stick up for myself. I’ve never been bad at this but I’ve never been particularly good at it either.

So, thank you, Irish guy on the subway. I thoroughly enjoyed spending that fifteen minutes with you listening to you speak your mind. You made my long, horrible commute home end on a good note.

And hey, we live off of the same stop! Hooray! I will find you. And I will make you be my friend.

Best,

Kacey

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-48874520-1', 'svbtle.com'); ga('send', 'pageview');
 
5
Kudos
 
5
Kudos

Now read this

Relationships in New York City

Dating in New York is absolutely insane. For one thing, meeting new people in itself presents a whole new challenge in the city. Most of us who live here are pretty habitual. We see the same people every day at work or school. We go to... Continue →